Cleaning Tips: Kitchen Cleaning Checklist

Spring is right around the corner (hard to believe as I look at the snow in my yard!), so it’s time to start thinking about Spring cleaning. I’m going to spread my cleaning out over the course of a month rather than just a day or two so I don’t get overwhelmed. I’m also a big fan of checklists – I think they help me get and stay organized, so it’s no surprise that I’m making up checklists for my cleaning too.

Today, I’d like to share my spring-cleaning checklist for the kitchen. I plan on giving myself 3 days to tackle the kitchen.

Daily Tasks

  • Do the dishes, hand wash the pots and pans after every meal
  • Wipe down the counters
  • Empty the trash (maybe not daily, but definitely not yearly!)
  • Sweep
  • Change the towels

Spring Cleaning Tasks

  • Take care of cobwebs (I do this first so they don’t fall on something that has already been cleaned)
  • Dust light fixtures
  • Spot clean the walls
  • Clean the oven (I know – this should be done more than once a year, but I have 3 kids! Give a girl a break!)
  • Clean the stove top including the burner grates
  • Clean the filter on the stove fan
  • Descale the Keurig
  • Wipe down cabinet doors using a degreaser
  • Organize cabinets, tossing anything that hasn’t been used in the past year. Goodbye travel mug collection!
  • Sort spices, tossing anything that’s too old
  • Sort cooking utensils, tossing/donating anything that hasn’t been used in a year
  • Clean/organize under the kitchen sink, put down new contact paper if needed
  • Sanitize the counters with bleach
  • Clean the fridge (I do this more than once a year)
  • Defrost the freezer
  • Clean the microwave (this is more of a weekly task)
  • Clean the front of the appliances
  • Clean behind the TV (my husband has a TV on top of the fridge and he likes to hide stuff behind it…)
  • Clean the garbage disposal and sink drain
  • Clean the sink
  • Polish the faucet (tip, use a dryer sheet)
  • Clean baseboards using a dryer sheet
  • Clean the rug
  • Clean the board at the base of the cabinets
  • Sweep
  • Mop
Leave a Reply

