Savings Opportunity: Cloth Diapers

While I was trying to think of something to blog about today, I took a brief moment to check in with the mob online and see if anyone was speculating about what the next print would be.

Confused? Then you must not be into cloth diapering.

What’s that you say? Cloth diapering is gross? Wash the poop in the WASHING MACHINE! Nasty?

If that was your initial reaction, you’re wrong. So, so, so wrong. I was worried at first about scraping off poop and touching poop and poop touching my washer, but I decided to try it anyway. I had the opportunity to procure some used diapers (WHAT!? USED DIAPERS!?) cheap and decided to jump right in.

First of all, yes, people sell used diapers. In fact, some diapers that are hard to find or in a limited edition print appreciate, even after use. Most mamas that cloth diaper their babies sell the diapers when they’re done with them to other mamas, making back as much as 70% of their investments for a mixed lot of regular diapers and prints. Those with more prints make more back, it’s that simple.

So what is cloth diapering really like? It’s a lot like regular diapering, but with an added load of laundry every few days and a whole lot more money in my pocket. Lets just compare costs for a minute here:

Cloth diapers:
24 well-loved pre-owned diapers:  $50 (this is really super low, most people spend a lot more. This lot would likely be closer to $200 for most people)

2 brand new diapers in prints that will gain value, even after use: $42

Total: 26 diapers for $92. These will last me the entire time that I am diapering my baby, though I’ll likely keep adding prints and I want to snap-convert the older diapers which will cost me maybe $40 in supplies.

Disposable diapers:

$30 for a case. 1 case lasts almost a month. $92 would get me a little less than 3 months worth of diapers. 1 year of diapering would be about $400.

Now lets take into account that kids potty train around 2.5 years old. By that time, disposables will have cost $1000. Cloth? I’m still at $92 (or $132 if I snap-convert them).

When I’m all done with my cloth diapers, I can easily make my $132 back. Good luck selling used disposables to anyone.

Does cloth diapering look a little more attractive now? Sure, you have to pay for water and electricity to wash the cloth ones, but you have to pay for trash and trash bags to get rid of the disposable ones too. Not to mention disposable diapers don’t really biodegrade and cloth diapers don’t need to.

So, if you’re looking for a great way to save some money while diapering your kids, look into cloth diapers. If you’re just beginning your family and plan on having more kids in the future, you can use the same cloth diapers for multiple children (the ones I have are one-size and can be “let out” for kids as they grow) to save even more.

Take a look at cloth diapers and see what kind of savings you’ve been missing out on!

Leave a Reply

