OxiClean Dishwasher Detergent: Where Have You Gone?

While our goal is always consuming less, making more things from scratch and recycling as much as possible, there is one convenience I will never give up and that’s my dishwasher. With a family of 5, the mechanical marvel is one aspect of modern life I absolutely love… and loathe.

When it’s working properly, I love it. The dishes go in dirty, come out clean and save me a lot of time, effort and chapped hands. It’s great. I’ve recently gotten new pans and those don’t go in the dishwasher, but nearly everything else does.

Unfortunately, our water is hard and our dishwasher is picky. I can’t get the bargain-brand dishwasher detergent in liquid form, pour it in and come back to sparkling dishes an hour later. Oh no, that would be much too convenient. Instead, I had to go through painstaking hours of trying different detergents and rinse aids to find one that works for us.

The winner? OxiClean dishwasher detergent. It’s the best for glasses. Other detergents leave a foggy film behind, but OxiClean didn’t. Couple that with vinegar in place of rinse aid and we had a winning dishwasher combo for a long time. 

Unfortunately, I went out this weekend to replenish my dishwasher detergent stores (I buy like 5 bottles of it at a time, typically with coupons) and to my amazement, there wasn’t any. I thought that other savvy shoppers in the area with hard water and cheap dishwashers just figured out what I’d known for so long and had simply cleared the shelf of detergent, so I went home and ventured to a new store the next day. That store didn’t have any either. Now I was confused – there hadn’t been any OxiClean coupons out lately. Why were the shelves bare?

I searched for the shelf marker indicating where the OxiClean should be in vain. It seems it had been removed from the store’s inventory. Confused, I went back to the first store. No longer on the shelf there either…

So, late last night I sent an email over to the folks at OxiClean to find out if they have discontinued the product. I’m not willing to pay the prices on Amazon (5 times retail), so hopefully it isn’t gone and they can point me in the right direction. Until I hear back, I’ll be looking up DIY recipes for similar detergent and hoping for the best. Nothing else on the market can really compare.

7 thoughts on “OxiClean Dishwasher Detergent: Where Have You Gone?

  1. chatleydesigns says:

    Have you found if the Oxiclean is discontinuued? I agree with you completely, this is the only detergent that has worked for us. Have you found a replacement? Please share. I’m so lost as what to do.

    Like

    • Amber says:

      They are still making it (thank God!), but our Walmart and every other Walmart I’ve been in are no longer carrying it. I found it in one of the grocery stores near my house, but it’s not very convenient to get and the price is quite high.

      Before I found it again, I did try the 7th generation liquid dishwasher detergent at Target (I believe they sell small bottles at Walmart too) and that seems to work very well for us. They have regular or extra strength and the extra strength is definitely worth the extra cost. We also use plain white vinegar in the rinse-aid compartment and that seems to help too.

      Like

  2. Joann Sim says:

    Everytime i find something that I REALLY like….they always discontinue it or it’s hard to find. I have well water and oxyclean is the best for my dishes. They come out clean and no spotting. Is it discontued or can i still buy it ..without paying an arm and a leg.?? I have looked in many stores and can’t find it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

