Carefree Fresh & Fierce Panty Liners Review

carefree

I was recently given a free package of Carefree Fresh & Fierce panty liners** to try and review. I’m not being paid to review the product and all opinions are my own.

When I first opened the panty liners, I immediately thought they looked just like every other panty liner I’ve ever seen. The packaging was “discreet”, so that was a plus. However, they used an obscene amount of glue to get the liners to stick to the wrapper. Once I peeled all of the wrapper off, I was a little surprised to find that the back of the liner wasn’t very sticky. Confusing indeed.

Anyway, I was curious what made these liners so special. The package said unscented, so I gave them the sniff test. I didn’t smell anything really, just a faint hint of plastic wrapper. Not bad. Definitely not the overpowering perfume smell you find on some feminine products.

next, I decided to see how much they could hold. Most people use panty liners for heavy discharge days, in conjunction with a tampon, to give protection when they’re expecting their period or as minor protection against bladder leakage. The point is – most of the time it needs to hold at least a little bit.

Using some really unscientific methods, I began by pouring 1 TBSP of liquid directly onto the liner. WHAT A MESS! Total fail! I was shocked when more than half of the liquid just repelled instantly and went all over my counter. This seemed like a bad omen.

I decided to try again, this time using less liquid. I wanted to know how much these puppies could hold. It took 8 teaspoons before I noticed any leakage, though some liquid did come out before that point when the liner was folded and compressed. I also noticed that if liquid was added slower, the liner had time to absorb it. If it’s added too quicky (like I did with the first test), it pretty much just repelled it. That makes me think these would be NO GOOD for minor bladder leakage, but great for other applications.

It’s also important to note that the top of these panty liners always felt dry to the touch, which was nice. The top is made of a rather durable cotton-y material that is soft and stays remarkably dry.

Conclusion: Carefree Fresh & Fierce panty liners performed better than I expected. I’d say they did better than my usual panty liner (Kotex) in terms of absorbancy, and the stay-dry top material was a real bonus.

**I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes.

Leave a Reply

