Product Review: Not a Word About Love by Hana Goldberg

 

LoveBook

I’m going to change things up a little bit today with a book review. This one is called “Not a Word About Love” and it’s written by a well-known author, Hana Goldberg.

Just by reading the title, you’re automatically thinking it’s a romance, right? Wrong. It’s not. I’d say it’s more of an inspirational story – well, to most people anyway. For me, this was like watching the bachelorette. I was rooting for the main character, Maya, to meet her end. I wanted her husband to pop in and catch her adulterous behind. *Spoiler alert* That didn’t happen.

Anyway, the story follows Maya, a struggling wife and mother, who has some type of mental disorder. I’m going to go ahead and say it’s probably bipolar disorder because she goes through periods of heavy depression and then almost snaps back to “normal” like a light switch is being flicked. During her depressive fits, she self-soothes with sex.

Since Maya was in some type of depressive slump, her husband Uri suggested she take a trip to Thailand to rediscover herself, search for inspiration and recharge her batteries. Sounds like a great guy, right? Yep – she cheated on him. Numerous times. From as early on as her overseas plane ride. Makes perfect sense, right? Do you see why I describe her as someone I love to hate?!

Anyway, her adulterous rendezvous eventually help her pull herself out of whatever funk she’s in. She *finally* realizes that she’s is in control of her happiness and her focus shifts so she begins to see the good in life, rather than whining about how bad things are. It’s like she goes from seeing the glass as half empty to seeing it as half full.

The author does an AMAZING job describing Thailand. You will feel like you’re there, walking the streets with your frienemy. The descriptions of the street vendors, locals and the buildings are just incredible. More than once, I just totally felt like I was there.

Overall, it was a very well-written book that really pulled me in. There were some steamy scenes, but what really got me was that I found myself emotionally invested in Maya’s journey.

You can find the book on Amazon by clicking here.

*I received this book free for review purposes, all opinion are my own*

Leave a Reply

