5 Tips for Tackling Your To-Do List

Being organized and staying on-task is a constant struggle for me. I’m a stay-at-home mom / work-at-home mom and there are plenty of days when my to-do list simply doesn’t get done. I can’t even count how many times in the past week my husband has come home to find dinner uncooked and the house in shambles. He asks what I did that day and I draw a complete blank.

That’s just unacceptable to me.

So, in an effort to get on track, I’m making it a goal to be more organized, stay on task and get more done in June. It takes 30 days to build a habit, and fortunately, there are 30 days in June. Baby steps. This WILL happen. 

With that in mind, I thought I’d start with sharing 5 tips for tackling your to-do list. Lets learn together to be more productive!

Tip #1: Make a list.

This seems completely obvious, but you’d be surprised how many times I simply say I’m “too busy” to make a to-do list. That results in me running around trying to remember what I have left to do, wasting time and focusing on the wrong projects.

Tip #2: Prioritize your list.

Now that you have a to-do list, it’s time to prioritize your tasks. What’s the most important? Least important? A bonus item? You can number the items on your list, re-write the list in order of importance or use colored highlighters to mark things as “high”, “mid” and “low” priority.

Tip #3: Trim the list.

Lets be honest, we probably all put too many things on our to-do lists. Yes, I’d love to re-paint the window sills. Guess what I have a snowball’s shot in hell of doing today? Painting the window sills. There’s no need to mark that as a “low” priority if it’s not getting done. All that does is makes your list visually intimidating. It’s a motivation killer to have too many items on the to-do list.

Tip #4: Reward yourself.

It’s always easier to tackle a to-do list if there’s a reward. For me, Monday nights are bachelorette nights. My reward will be watching the show. I’ll write “Bachelorette” at the bottom of my to-do list and try to not give in and watch until everything that’s marked “high” priority is done.

Tip #5: Turn OFF distractions.

For me, Facebook is a huge distraction. I can blow hours on end browsing the yard sale sites, checking for updates and looking at people’s photos. I have to turn off the distractions in order to have time to get things done. Now that I have a smartphone, unplugging is an even bigger struggle. I’ve tried blocking Facebook in the past, but since I have to check in every now and then for groups I help run, it’s nearly impossible.

Do you have a hard time prioritizing and tackling your to-do list? Have you figured out a good system? Share your tips in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

