Daisy Scouts – Leader Training

I *think* I posted a couple weeks ago that I’m going to be starting a Daisy Scout troop in my town. So far, I’ve completed the paper work, paid my $15 fee to join the scouts as an adult member and completed my online training. Up next is the face-to-face training that takes 3 hours.

I’m fortunate that I have a trainer that lives in my town, which means we can kind of set up our own mini group and I won’t have to drive to Warwick, RI!

Guys, that’s amazing.
If you’re not from here, Warwick (all of RI really) is basically a hot bed of drug dealers, prostitutes and kidnappers. I don’t know why Girl Scouts would set up a council headquarters in such a hell, but they did. I assume it was some time before Warwick really went down hill? Were they ever NOT down hill? I don’t know. All I know is that I am super super super excited to not have to go there. Super excited.

I will say that I’m a little disappointed with how disorganized the Girl Scouts seem to be. Whether this is an organization-wide epidemic, or just the result of our local council being headquartered in the opiate capital of New England, I don’t know. I don’t have a solid date for training, but supposedly we are recruiting members for the troop on Friday. Right. I don’t know what I’ll need to get or prepare for the first meeting and at this point I think the first meeting will be before I’m even done with training. And I’m the leader. Bravo Girl Scouts, bravo!

I’m not a wing-it kind of person, so this is really screwing with me. I NEED A PLAN!

Any other leaders out there have any tips? Will training really be useful or should I start scouring the internet more than I already am? What about a journey book? Where should I start??

Leave a Reply

