SAHMs that Use Daycare??

I’ve noticed something really cute around where I live. The moms in my moms group call daycare “school”. They use that term instead of daycare to justify sending their 2 year old for 2 hours a day, twice a week.

Lady, you’re in a moms group that has playgroups and everything else. You don’t need daycare school to socialize your child. You need it to save your own sanity. Own that. It’s ok… even if it doesn’t make sense financially.

I don’t know about these other moms, but I stay home to save money. Daycare or school or whatever the hell you want to call it is expensive. I figured out a long time ago that my job in a Chemistry lab wouldn’t go far when paying daycare rates. So to me, it seems silly to forego working to “stay home” if you’re just going to ship the kids off to daycare anyway. More power to you if your husband makes enough money that you can piss it away like that and not feel bad, but I can’t justify it.

I get that you don’t want to grocery shop with the little monsters. I get that you can’t clean with kids underfoot. I get that. I really really do. I “work from home” part time with 2 kids here all day long. I totally understand your plight. It’s hard.

What I don’t get is how you say you’re staying home because childcare is too expensive, but you ship them off anyway. Most of the women I know that use daycare and are stay at home moms complain about bills, how hard it is to make ends meet, etc. I know it’s only a couple hours and you’re paying a lot less than full time care would be, but it just seems so contradictory.

I can only imagine what my husband would say if I told him I needed some “me time” during the day and that I was sending the kids to daycare. He’d laugh at me.

When I’m about to go nuts from the kids fighting, he suggests I bring them outside and let them burn off energy. Never mind that I can’t work out there (because my son… he’s a climber. I need to watch that one!). His other famous piece of advice is to just cram a full day’s worth of work into “nap time”, which doesn’t really work since my kids don’t nap at the same times. Housework? Nap time. Dinner prep? Nap time. He doesn’t get it because he’s not here.

Ah, husbands.

I manage though and without the help of a daycare school because I’m a stay at home mom. This is my job.

So again, I’m not trying to be a sanctimommy, I just honestly can’t justify paying soeone to do what I view to be my job while I’m supposed to be doing it.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

