Product Review: Tazo Chai Tea

photo 1

Chai lovers rejoice, Tazo has introduced a new and improved line of chai tea including concentrates in several wonderful flavors. I was recently given the opportunity to try Tazo chai tea for free through Smiley360 and I’ve got to say, I am impressed.

Let me just take a moment to comment on the smell. I worked in a coffee shop that sold chai tea lattes while I was in college (did not try them), so I knew that the smell would be spicy and bold. I did not expect a homemade chai to be more aromatic than what we would make at the coffee shop, but it was. Or at least, it was stronger than I remember.

I don’t mean that in a bad way – I’d make chai all day every day to get my home to smell like that. I wonder if there’s a chai tea wax melt? That would be fabulous.

Impressed by the smell, I thought the tea would taste equally wonderful. I was wrong. I mean, if you’re into the flavor combination that is chai, I bet this would be top-quality stuff. It was so creamy and so smooth that remembering the experience of drinking it makes me tingly inside. However, logically, I know the flavor was a bit strong for me.

I’m not a fan of pumpkin pie and the spices reminded me of that. It wasn’t unpleasant, but it wasn’t like eating cheesecake, for example.

My husband on the other hand is a HUGE pumpkin pie fan. He could not resist the aroma and had to try it. I lost my cup of chai to him. He LOVED it. Which is wonderful, because he’s not a big tea drinker and he’s not a creamy liquids drinker, so he can have that and I can indulge in a mocha and watch it snow. I’m already picturing it. As a bonus, I get to smell the wonderfully seasonal scent of the chai when I make it for him.

So bottom line, I love LOVE LOVE the way it smells, but I’m not a huge fan of the flavor. The quality is amazing, and it’s so unbelievably creamy that anyone that does like the flavor combo would be hard pressed to find any type of fault with this drink.

photo 2

Overall, Tazo, I’m going to give you 5 stars because even though the flavor wasn’t for me, the quality was evident and the aroma was out of this world. It was easy to make, the texture was heavenly and I think you’d be hard pressed to find a better chai than this at a coffee shop. Splurge on the concentrate, add your own milk and indulge in a little slice of heaven at home.

5 stars

One thought on “Product Review: Tazo Chai Tea

Leave a Reply

