Home Organization Tips: Fall Declutter

Every time the seasons change I get the urge to organize and decorate my house. Don’t ask me why, I just do. I always start off with great intentions and it all goes downhill from there.

This season, I decided to pick one trouble spot per week to tackle. If I get it done on a Monday, I don’t have anything the rest of the week. If not, I have all week to think about it, shop for it and do it.

This week, I started with our storage cabinets in our mud room / laundry room. My husband is a hoarder. One of his dumping spots is on top of the cabinets. Unfortunately, that’s also the first spot you see when you walk in the back door. I cleared off the tops of the cabinets and found new homes for all of the stuff by either A.) Putting it back in the shed where it belongs or B.) Finding it a home in one of the cabinets.

I also tossed a bag full of junk, but don’t tell my husband that! The idea is that if I only toss 1 bag a week of junk, he won’t notice. Hence my unusual timeline of 1 problem area per week.

It’s amazing how something so simple as decluttering could change the whole look of the mud room. It’s no longer my least favorite spot in the house and I feel like you walk into a whole lot less chaos now. It’s great. Best of all, the transformation cost me $0 and only took about 30 minutes to do without the husband. You can’t beat that!

Do you have a spot in your home that’s driving you nuts?

Up next: The “dump spot” in the kitchen. AKA: Where mail, school work and lose pieces of toys go to die.

Leave a Reply

