Blogging Challenge (Day 16): Family Update

Anyone that has been reading this blog for any length of time knows that there’s a bit of tension between my sister-in-law and basically everyone else. In the world. No, I’m not even joking – she’s one of those girls that hates pretty much everyone for a different reason.

That being said, for the past 11 or so months, crazy-train (as I so lovingly refer to her bipolar behind) has been giving me the silent treatment. Awesome. It’s like a throwback to the 3rd grade. Anyway, my mother-in-law on that side of the family (she’s married to my brother-in-law) and her relatively new husband who has only been around for about 2 years now all pretty much ignored the situation and told us to just ignore her behavior and invite her to things and pretend like it’s completely normal and socially acceptable for her to act like a 9 year old. She has 4 kids now. Just throwing that out there.

So obviously I was like no thanks to that suggestion because it hasn’t worked for the past 8-ish years. In fact, her behavior just gets more over-the-top and outrageous with each passing year. I guess maybe she feels like since being a complete brat has worked so well for her in the past that she should continue doing it. Regardless of the reason, I’m done enabling her and so is my husband. We’ve said fine, you don’t want anything to do with us and the feeling is mutual, so we’ll just avoid you all together.

So, long story short, everyone has told us that we’re wrong to just avoid being around crazy train and that we should ignore her issues. We said they would not feel that way if she was giving any of them this type of treatment. They disagreed and swore they’d all “be the bigger person”.

The moment of truth finally arrived and it’s oh-so-sweet. Crazy train is now giving her special brand of attention to my mother-in-law’s husband and it would appear that he is not “being the bigger person”. In fact, my mother-in-law’s annual Christmas party (that we were not planning to attend) is not happening. Due to series of events all intimately linked to this one individual, my mother-in-law will surely have a Christmas to remember.

I’m just going to sit back here and watch the show unfold. It’s bound to be interesting.

Leave a Reply

