Blogging Challenge (Day 18): Trust Issues

I think I have trust issues. That, or I’m super cold hearted. I was just browsing the Facebook yard sale sites and came up to yet another “hard luck” story. This time it was a single mom with an 18-month old and a baby due in 2 weeks that had just moved out of the homeless shelter and was getting her own apartment. She needs “everything” and the person representing her was looking for donations.

I was tempted to jump in and offer to make a bag of baby toys, but I didn’t. I don’t know why, but I’m always suspicious of these stories. I know there are a lot of people in that situation, but I don’t know why none of them can go on Facebook themselves to make the request. I’d imagine that there’s internet at the homeless shelter. I know they have it at the library.

Then her friend kept saying she had to show her pictures of everything. If your friend is right there, why not hand her the phone and have her post?

Color me suspicious, but I always think the worst of those posts, even though I’m sure many are completely legitimate.

To make it even weirder, the person asking was accepting donations like espresso cups and decorative olive oil holders. Really?? I don’t think either of those would be high on my priority list if I was running around town trying to gather the essentials. Just sayin’.

Do you ever donate to those sob stories on Facebook? I wish I was more trusting, but I just can’t seem to believe half the people that ask. It seems like every day someone else had a house fire, was kicked out by a boyfriend, just left the homeless shelter or has recently discovered that they can’t afford Christmas for their kids. Again, I’m sure some are legitimate, but the area isn’t that bad – I’m sure they’re not all down on their luck! If they are all legitimate, a good portion must be coming from a nearby city, in which case I don’t see why they wouldn’t seek services in their city. It’s mind boggling.

Leave a Reply

