Blogging Challenge (Day 20): Husband is Being Fired

Today’s post is going to be a quick one. As I write this, my hands are shaking. We are, for the most part, a 1-income family. My husband works and I stay home with the kids. I do some writing, mostly through his workplace, on the side, but that’s about it. It’s not a lot of money.

Well, he has been acting “off” this weekend and he finally told me why. He is likely going to be fired. The writing is on the wall and it’s basically a matter of time. The timing sucks (right before Christmas) and I don’t know what to do. I didn’t realize how bad things had gotten where he works. Last year his co-worker was promoted to his manager. They offered him a severance package if he wanted to leave, but he stuck it out. I didn’t know that. Now, the co-worker turned manager is trying to find fault in everything he does. He’s clearly making a case to have him fired.

The person in question is not without blame himself, but as I told my husband, I don’t think it would make a difference. The management isn’t great where he works and it would be a case of he-said/he-said. They already sided with the co-worker once when they gave him the promotion over my husband, so I’m sure they’ll do it again. It’s not worth the fight or the humiliation.

I feel so helpless. I’ve been out of the work force for nearly 6 years now and if I go back to work I won’t be able to support the family on my salary alone, nor will I be able to pay for daycare alone. My husband analyzes every job posting out there and finds 500 reasons why he’s not qualified for it, so he never applies. He has low self-esteem when it comes to work.

I’m a nervous wreck to say the least. Please, send good vibes, prayers or whatever you can. It seems like the world is out to get us lately while horrible people flourish.

One thought on “Blogging Challenge (Day 20): Husband is Being Fired

Leave a Reply

