Officially a Part of the Minivan Mafia

So the insurance drama isn’t even close to coming to an end, but my parents stepped in and lent me some money (Yep, I officially have no shame left and took money from my parents) to buy a car so I can schlep the kids to school this week. We got a new-to-us Chrysler Town & Country. It doesn’t have the reputation of a Honda or a Toyota, but the engine was solid, it had a clean car fax and it was in my price range. As my dad pointed out, the only import I was going to get in my range would have been a piece of crap.

Plus, Honda Odysseys are known for transmission issues if not cared for properly and the only ones I could afford were higher mileage Odysseys which may or may not have had the timing belts done and fluids flushed so who knows how long the transmissions were going to last.

We also had to get new car seats to the tune of $300, but I should be getting reimbursed for those as well at some point.

So I’m back on the road and I’m part of the Minivan Mafia. This is the first domestic car I’ve ever owned and I hope it doesn’t disappoint me. I’ve noticed that when driving around in 90-degree weather the engine temperature indicator is always exactly halfway, which is higher than the Honda ever got. I’m not sure if I should worry about that. We also had an issue with the DVD player during our maiden voyage yesterday, but I’m not sure if that was an equipment issue or a user issue. It’ll definitely take some getting used to after driving a Honda for the past 6 years.

Leave a Reply

