Shark NV42 Review: I F***ing Love This Vacuum!

If the title didn’t give it away, this is one heck of a glowing review for the Shark NV42 vacuum.

A few weeks ago my husband manhandled my 9-month old Bissel and broke it. It still picked up dirt, but nothing would stay together. The automatic cord rewind bit the dust, the vacuum head wouldn’t stay up which was not fun for moving it between rooms and the hose would pop off at random, rendering the whole damn thing useless. Oh, and if you let it sit upright while you used the attachment, it made this burning smell because the belt couldn’t handle that.

But enough about my old Bissel, lets talk about the shark and how much I f***ing love this vacuum.

shark

There’s a picture of the metallic monster for you. I’ll tell you, I was hesitant to buy a vacuum that had a bronze/gold sheen, but I’m so glad I did. We snagged a refurbished model for a little savings and to get our feet wet with the Shark brand, but I can already tell you that I’m never going back and would gladly have paid $200 for a new one had I known what I’d been missing all these years.

Lets jump right in to the rating:

5 stars

That’s 5 stars if you hadn’t already guessed. Perfect. Like this vacuum.

The first thing I noticed when I took it out of the box was that it was a little heavier than my Bissel. I want to say this weighs 15 pounds, which is more than some inferior cleaners, but not unmanageable by any means. The head is smaller than my previous vacuum too which I thought I would hate, but secretly love. It’s so much easier to get around chair legs!

The skinnier, taller design is a lot easier on my 6-foot tall husband too, but is still comfortable for my 5-foot tall self. The narrower dirt container holds an impressive amount of debris and because it’s so slim I can fit it right in my trash can before hitting the release for a clean, dust-free emptying. This will be particularly wonderful in the winter when I don’t have to put on shoes and a coat to go empty the vacuum canister.

The vacuum has 2 settings. 1 is for bare floors and 1 is for carpet. We have carpeting and various area rugs in our house as well as hardwood floors. I can personally attest that this vacuum works well on all of them. Just remember to switch the settings as needed because the bare-floor setting makes the roller brush stop and then it’s hard to push on carpet.

The hose is designed with multiple guides to keep it in place and when the vacuum is in the upright position it automatically turns off the roller so you can use the hose without issue. A green light on the head indicates whether the roller is on or off.

Of course all the bells and whistles don’t mean anything if the vacuum doesn’t clean. This mighty contraption has not lost suction yet and did an impressive job of pulling dirt out of the rugs that my old Bissel left behind. My floors look and feel much cleaner now, though it did take a while until I felt like I had gotten EVERYTHING out of the rugs that my old vacuum cleaner left behind.

I highly recommend this Shark vacuum and if you can get a factory refurbished model, don’t hesitate to save yourself some money!

Leave a Reply

